Birth of a poem 

​As I set my pen

To paper,

And thoughts flow through

My veins to the pen’s,

I wonder what colour

Will I bleed

On to the paper.
What colour would be

Of despair, of misery,

Or what colour would I bleed

To paint the colours of tranquility?

Or what must I do

To paint a mirage through my words,

Upon the hapless sheet that lay right in front of me.
This hapless white sheet,

Lying lifeless,

Like a widow robbed

Of its only will to live.

To love.

Do I bleed on it

To give it life?

One life transferred,

One life saved.
May I bleed 

Upon this ivory sheet of paper

And stain the widow

With my repugnant thoughts?

And speak with fervour 

Of my fierce soul and dreams,

Only to unearth the beautifully valiant

Woman under the veil

And let her cascade her fervour 

And set ablaze the over stretched horizons.
Rise, brave paper

With the words I fill 

In your soul,

For the night might be dark

And full of terrors,

But the day is when the

Demons hide

In plain sight.

Let me expel my demons

With this sword that is my pen

So that a battleground 

May erupt, on your surface.
So, be ready, brave paper,

The chastity of your soul

Is to be breached.

The sun will rise the same,

But the shadows won’t be alike,

The story won’t be the same.

But see through it, brave paper,

You always become a treasurable memoir.

It’s in you that a day never gets it’s closure,

Yet the tranquil stillness of dawn resides.
Sound the conch,

Rally the bannermen, 

And bring out the cavalry!

Two wars will be waged

Today, dear paper.

One on your body,

One in my mind.

And the victor will bleed out

On you.

And thus,

A poem shall be born.

11 thoughts on “Birth of a poem 

  1. Mackenzie says:

    You are SUCH a gifted writer, Kiran. I absolutely love reading everything you write- it’s all so beautiful, honest, and insightful… I’m so glad to have “met” you here. You are so talented, dear!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jason says:

    I have been browsing on-line greater than three hours lately, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It’s beautiful price sufficient for me. In my view, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you probably did, the web
    can be much more helpful than ever before.

    Like

Leave a Reply

