You have been everything to me 

​You have been everything to me:a father

Teacher, playmate, model, conscience, friend.

Sometimes  not certain why you bother,

If your feelings on my words depend.

I know I haven’t been the child I should:

Far from it, and I really can’t say why.

I know exactly what I’d label good,

But in the real world something goes awry.

Underneath my actions there is love,

Gratitude, respect, and admiration.

Sometimes I don’t know what I’m thinking of,

But I thank God you’re in for the duration.

I’m sorry, sorry for the things I do,

But please believe I cherish Mom and you.

14 thoughts on “You have been everything to me 

Leave a Reply

